Andrew Snarr ~ Artist Feature November 2015

Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 3.29.57 PM

Artist Bio:

I am an artist originally from Walnut Creek, California. I am a junior at SanFrancisco State University and major in Visual Communication design. I tend to use pen and ink most often. I immersed myself within skateboarding and street art culture at a fairly young age. Ever since then my work has always reflected that. I tend to create images that I would like to see on skateboards one day, or something of that nature. Something people can ride around on and interact with.

Artist Statement:

In my work, I attempt to create dream-like sequences. I often borrow from native folklore and attempt to reflect the animalistic side of human nature. The characters and environments that I create are symbolic of my experiences, outdoor adventures and those that I have encountered along the way who live a pleasure-seeking lifestyle. The pieces I create are not necessarily about the outcome, but rather the process and what I get from it. I find pleasure and solace in creating something out of nothing that otherwise wouldn’t exist.

Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 3.33.54 PM

Untitled

Pen, ink, coffee on paper

18in x 10in

Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 3.33.42 PM

Untitled

Pen,ink, coffee on canvas paper

18in x 24in

