Veronica Rueda ~Artist Feature June 2015

Artwork Info
Untitled
gessoed & laser cut canvas, monofilament, raffia on lucite frames
Four 8″x10″ frames

 

unnamed-1

 

Artist Bio 
Veronica Rueda is a San Jose native and 20 years young. She recently finished up her third year at San Francisco State University where she studies studio art and art history. She has been painting and drawing from a young age but considers herself an interdisciplinary artist because she has dabbled in a variety of media–dancing, ceramics, zines, weaving, crochet, embroidery, laser cutting, printing, and dyeing. Recently the world of textiles has dominated the way she works and allows her to explore textures and colors inspired by her culture as well as the city she resides in.

 

 

Artist Statement
Currently my work is more of an exploration of material rather than conceptual imagery like it has been in the past. I have always been interested in interactive artwork meant to be experienced differently than just visually. In retrospect, perhaps this is why I took up dancing as a kid. I grew up thinking painting was my artistic language but have always been fascinated by textures. Therefore, working with textiles has opened up my eyes to endless possibilities. I am interested in making touchable paintings as a sort of commentary on the “white cube” gallery space that doesn’t allow visitors to touch art.  I have also begun incorporating the use of digital tools such as Illustrator and a laser cutter to create my textile pieces as a way to suggest that things aren’t always what they appear to be at first glance.

 

<

div> 

